A Quick Guide to Gluten Free Candy for Halloween

Click to Share!

Wondering if Tootsie Rolls are gluten free? The Quick Guide to Gluten Free Candy for Halloween will keep mom stress free during trick-or-treating

When we started our gluten-free journey, I naively thought it would be somewhat easy. Yes, pre-packaged foods would be hard. Restaurants wouldn't be easy. Trying to find gluten free candy was not even on my radar.

Until Halloween and Christmas. There is something about the months of October, December, February, March, and April that bring out the candy. Are Tootsie Rolls gluten free?

We don't normally have candy in our house, and when we do, I put it in the pantry or cabinet so it's not the first thing we see and grab for. Just call me the mean mom. Ha!

I made a HUGE assumption that most candy would be okay because why in the world would it contain gluten.

Halloween Candy Gluten Free

Boy, was I wrong.

Before you buy any more candy, make sure to read this list to make sure it's safe. . Our favorite “safe” candy is the Yummy Earth lollipops. They are delicious, vegan, and gluten free! They were great motivators when we were potty training.

If you have friends and family looking for gluten free treats that your family can eat, or if you are looking for ideas of what to buy for a party where gluten free candy is needed, this is your list.

This list is not exhaustive. It's also subject to change given that manufacturers change their formulations and ingredients from time to time. Make sure that you always read the labels.

Tootsie Roll Industries Gluten Free Candy

  • Tootsie Rolls
  • Fruit Rolls
  • Junior Mints
  • Frooties
  • Dots
  • Tropical Dots
  • Crows
  • Cella's Milk Chocolate Covered Cherries
  • Cella's Dark Chocolate Covered Cherries
  • Junior Mints
  • Dubble Bubble
  • Charleston Chew
  • Junior Caramels
  • Tootsie Pops
  • Tootsie Peppermint Pops
  • Caramel Apple Pops
  • Fruit Smoothie Pops
  • Tropical Stormz Pops
  • Child's Play
  • Charms Blow Pops
  • Charms Super Blow Pops
  • Charms Pops
  • Zip-A-Dee-Mini Pops
  • Fluffy Stuff Cotton Candy
  • Sugar Daddy Pops
  • Sugar Mama Caramels
  • Charms Squares
  • Charms Sour Balls
  • Charms Candy Carnival
  • Pops Galore
  • Andes
  • Sugar Babies

On their website, Tootsie Roll Industries also says that their confections are peanut free!

The Hershey Company Gluten Free Candy

  • Almond Joy Candy – All Except Almond Joy Pieces Candy
  • Mounds
  • Hershey's Kisses
    • Hershey’s Hugs Candy
    • Hershey’s Kisses Milk Chocolate Filled with Caramel
    • Hershey’s Kisses Milk Chocolate Filled with Cherry Cordial Crème
    • Hershey’s Kisses Filled with Vanilla Crème
    • Hershey’s Kisses Dark Chocolate Filled with Mint Truffle
    • Hershey’s Kisses Pumpkin Spice Flavored Candies
    • Hershey’s Kisses Carrot Cake 
    • Hershey’s Kisses Meltaway Milk Chocolates
    • Hershey’s Kisses Milk Chocolate
    • Hershey’s Kisses Special Dark Mildly Sweet Chocolate
    • Hershey's Kisses – Candy Cane
    • Hershey's Kisses – Kiss Deluxe
    • Hershey's Kisses – Espresso
    • Hershey's Kisses Creamy Milk Chocolate
    • Hershey's Kisses Creamy Milk Chocolate with Almonds
  • Hershey's Nuggets
    • Hershey’s Nuggets Milk Chocolates
    • Hershey’s Nuggets Milk Chocolate with Almonds
    • Hershey’s Nuggets Special Dark Chocolate with Almonds
    • Hershey’s Nuggets Extra Creamy Milk Chocolate with Toffee and Almonds
    • Hershey's Nuggets Special Dark Chocolate
  • Hershey's Milk Chocolate Bar
    • Hershey’s Milk Chocolate Bar (1.55oz only)
    • Hershey’s Milk Chocolate Bar with Almonds (1.45oz only)
  • Hershey's Special Dark  Snack Bars
  • Hershey's Milk Duds
  • Heath Bars (all)
  • Payday Candy – All, including PayDay Snack Bites.
  • Reese’s Fast Break Bar
  • Reese’s Nutrageous BarReese's Bars
  • Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups – All Except Reese’s Peanut Butter Cup Unwrapped Minis and Seasonal Shaped Item
  • Reese’s Pieces Candy – All Except Reese’s Pieces Eggs
  • Reese's Pieces Peanut Butter Cups
  • Rolo® Caramels in Milk Chocolate Candies – All Except Rolo® Minis
  • Skor Toffee Bars – All
  • York Peppermint Patties – All Except York Pieces Candy,  Sugar-Free Peppermint Patties, York Minis, and York Shapes (5 oz.)

Seasonal candy should be avoided as it is typically made on shared equipment and there is a risk of cross-contamination.

Nestlé USA Gluten Free Candy

  • Butterfinger bars (fun size, singles, and share pack)
  • Goobers
  • Nips
  • Raisinets
    • Cranberry
    • Dark Chocolate
  • Toll House morsels and chunks
  • Baby Ruth
  • Bit-O-Honey
  • Milk Chocolate
  • SweeTARTS
  • Oh Henry!
  • Sno-Caps
  • Wonka Pixy Stix
  • Laffy Taffy
  • Wonka Lik-M-Aid Fun Dip
A Quick Guide to Gluten Free Candy for Halloween 1

Wrigley Gluten Free Candy

  • Creme Savers
  • Lifesavers
  • Skittles
  • Starburst

From the Wrigley website,

While some Wrigley products may contain gluten, the majority of our products are gluten-free. In general, we avoid using ingredients that contain gluten where they serve no functional purpose or can be replaced by gluten-free alternatives; however, ingredients and formulas may vary between regions. When the use of ingredients containing gluten is critical to the product taste experience, we follow all labeling requirements to allow our consumers to make an informed choice. We always advise consumers who are concerned about food sensitivities to read the label and check with their doctor if they have questions.

JellyBelly Gluten Free Candy

Jelly Belly jelly beans are gluten free, peanut free, dairy free, fat-free and vegetarian-friendly.

Just Born Gluten Free Candy

  • Mike and Ike Berry Blast
  • Mike and Ike Italian Ice (affiliate link)
  • Mike and Ike Jolly Joes
  • Mike and Ike Lemonade Blends
  • Mike and Ike Original Fruits
  • Mike and Ike Redrageous
  • Mike and Ike Tangy Twister
  • Mike and Ike Tropical Typhoon
  • Mike and Ike Zours
  • Mike and Ike Jelly Beans
  • Mike and Ike Hot Tamales
  • Goldenberg's Vintage Peanut Chews

As for Peeps, check the packaging. If they are gluten-free, the packaging will state that.

Impact Confections Inc. Gluten Free Candy

  • Carousel/Color-Blaster Pops
  • Lollipop Paint Shop
  • Warheads Extreme Sour Hard Candy
  • Warheads Extreme Sour Hard Candy Minis
  • Warheads Sour Chewy Cubes
  • Warheads Super Sour Double Drops
  • Warheads Super Sour Spray Candy
  • Warheads Sour Dippers
  • Melster Chocolate-Covered Marshmallow
  • Melster Compound-Coated Marshmallow
  • Melster Chocolate-Covered Creme Drops
  • Melster Compound Coated Creme Drops
  • Melster Salt Water Taffy
  • Melster Peanut Butter Kisses
  • Melster Circus Peanuts
  • Melster Sanded Marshmallow
  • Melster Coconut Toasties
Gluten Free Halloween Candy

NECCO® Gluten Free Candy

  • Necco Wafers
  • Necco Chocolate Wafers
  • Candy House Candy Buttons
  • Canada Mint, Wintergreen and Spearmint Lozenges
  • Mary Jane
  • Mary Jane Peanutbutter Kisses (available for Halloween only)
  • Banana Splits Chews
  • Mint Julep Chews
  • Haviland Thin Mints, Wintergreen Patty, Nonpareils and Chocolate Stars
  • Skybar
  • Sweethearts (for Valentine's Day only)
  • Conversation Hearts (available for Valentine's Day only)
  • Mary Jane peanut butter kisses (for Halloween only)

Ferrara Candy Company Gluten Free Candy

  • Bob's Candy Canes
  • Brach's Candy Canes
  • Atomic Fireballs
  • Black Forest gummies
  • Ferrara gummies
  • Sathers gummies
  • Trolli gummies
  • Gum Drops
  • Orange Slices
  • Bob's Sweet Stripes
  • Boston Baked Beans
  • Brach's Wild ‘N Fruity Gummi Worms
  • Brach's Cinnamon Disks/Imperials
  • Brach's Conversation Hearts
  • Brach's Lemon Drops
  • Cherry Sours
  • Ferrara Fruit Snacks
  • Black Forest Fruit Snacks
  • Trolli Fruit Snacks
  • Gumballs
  • Jawbreakers
  • Jelly Beans
  • Juju's
  • Jujy's
  • Lemonheads
  • Lemonheads & Friends Conversation Hearts
  • Tropical Chewy Lemonhead
  • Chewy Lemonhead & Friends
  • Berry Chewy Lemonhead
  • Cherryhead
  • Grapehead
  • Now & Later
  • Red Hot's
Halloween Trick or Treating Gluten Free Candy

Making Gluten Free Candy Buying Less Scary

Did you realize there were so many candy brands? I hope this list has made gluten free Halloween candy shopping a little less scary.

If you have any questions about whether a candy is gluten-free or not, call the 1-800 number on the packaging. With the manufacturing code, they should be able to tell you exactly where the product was manufactured and whether it the ingredients are gluten-free or not.

Click to Share!

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *